Register  |  Login
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
You are here:   Committees > Awards & Recognition
INEC Minimize
Nomination Deadlines Minimize
Daisy Award Recipients 2013 Minimize

2To Nominate- click here013 DAISY Award Recipients!




January 2013: Amber Mason, RN, HVC Services Unit 5-3 SP
February 2013:  Mary-Kate Kowel, RN, Medicine Services Unit 9-5 EP
March 2013: Florinda Torres, RN, HVC Services Unit 5-2 SP
April 2013: Megan Frank, RN, Surgical Services Unit 6-4 SP
June 2013: FlorentNallbani, RN, Surgical Services Unit 7-7 EP
July 2013: Theresa Petrone, RN, Oncology Services NP 14
August 2013: Jillian Trufan, RN, Cardiac Services Verde-3E
September 2013: MaricarPendon, RN, Nathan Smith Clinic
October 2013: AdoraHandumon, RN, Medicine 7-5 EP
2012 Nurse Excellence Award Minimize
Nursing Education Excellence: Cheryl Thomas, RN, CPPE Education Specialist
Nursing Management Excellence: Denine Baxter, RN, PSM Pediatric Emergency Services & Pedi RSU
Preceptor of the Year: Kelly Bonito, RN, Neuroscience-Epilepsy 6/3
Graduate Nurse of the Year: Nicole Waller, RN, Maternal Special Care Unit WP 10MSCU
Excellence in Advanced Practice:  

Paolin ‘Cathy’ Liu, APRN, Pediatric Primary Care Center

Early Clinical Practice: Danielle Kaika, RN, Medicine Services 7/5
Professional Practice Excellence:

Allison Febbroriello, RN, Maternal Special Care Unit WP 10MSCU

Excellence in the Charge Nurse Role:

Jeffrey Baran, RN, Medical Intensive Care Unit NP9/10

Outstanding Impact on Patient Safety & Quality:

Debra Searles, RN, Transplantation Unit WP9

Outstanding Team Award:

5/7 Observation Unit



Our Criteria: Minimize
Nursing Award and Recognition Membership Criteria

New members must commit to a minimum of a 2 year term with no maximum determined unless member not meeting other membership criteria.
·   Representation must be present across all service lines.
·   New members must fill out a membership application from the nursing website—qualified applicants will be notified when a position is available within that service line.
·   Members must attend at least 75% of meetings (9 of 12 meetings) within the year; attendance must be in person or via tele-conference when available.
·   Members must notify co-chairs if they will not be able to attend meetings.
·   Members must actively participate in award presentations throughout the year; including, but not limited to:

     -  Collecting nominations
     -  Presenting nominations to the committee for voting
     -  Voting for award winners
     -  Being present for award presentation when applicable
     -  Helping with various activities surrounding committee responsibilities
        (i.e.: Nursing Certification Day, National Nurses Week, etc.)
Revised by standing committee (9/2012)

Our Mission: Minimize
The Nursing Award and Recognition Committee provides meaningful recognition to registered nurses at YNHH York Street and Chapel Street Campuses, as well as Shoreline Medical Center in Guilford, CT. All of our awards programs have been developed by staff nurses. 
Our primary goal is to recognize excellence in all aspects of nursing care. This includes our annual March 19th Certification Celebration, monthly DAISY award, Virginia Henderson, Nurse Choice, Donna Diers, and Nighingale Awards.
The Award and Recognition Committee organizes and plans Nurse Week Celebrations at YNHH. The Excellence Award reception is the highlight of Nurse week.  This event recognizes the outstanding work that is done by our exemplary nurses, every day for every patient.
If you have any ideas or concerns,  or would like to join us, please contact:
Cindy Taylor and Deirdre Lonergan
The Nursing Award Schedule can be clicked here
2013 Nurse Choice Awards Minimize

Saint Raphael Campus presents its first Nurse Choice Award

Nurses on the Saint Raphael campus recently presented their first Nurse Choice Award to Stephen Trajeski, a Catering to You associate in the Dietary Aide Department of Food & Nutrition. Nurses nominate non-nurses whom they want to recognize for excellence in supporting the nursing staff. They present the award in April and October.

The Nursing Award and Recognition Committee introduced the award in 2010. Since then, they have presented awards to individuals from a variety of departments throughout the hospital. This was the first presentation on SRC since integration began last September.

Susan Falbo-MacConnie, RN, nursing care coordinator, Cardiac Step-down Unit on SRC, said that she nominated Trajeski because he “takes the time to personally sit down with each patient and get to know them, and will do whatever it takes to make them as comfortable as possible.”

To nominate a candidate on either campus for the Nurse Choice Award, go to during the months of April and October and follow the provided links.


2013 Nightingale Recipients Minimize


 June Brackett
HVC - Cardiothoracic Intensive Care Unit
 Kathryn Dias
Surgical Intensive Care Unit 6-1 SP
 Lauren Edwards
Pediatric Intensive Care Unit
 Faith Hunt
Neurosciences Intensive Care Unit
 Margaret Meglin
Medicine Services 10-7/8 EP
 Oni Muhammad
Woman's Center – Community Health
 Linda Nugent
 Pediatric Surgery Center
 Jillian Orlando
 Pediatric Specialty Center
 Meighann Recile
 Observation Unit 5-7 EP
 Jennifer Savino
 Infusion 7 and Day Hospital
 Kate Thompson
 HVC Cardiac Step-down Unit 5-4 SP
 Sarah Valerie
 Labor and Birth
 Anna Andreozzi
 Cardiac Rehabilitation/Take Heart Program
 Karly Bender
 Surgical Services Unit SLA 3
 Lynn Dell
 Ambulatory Surgery Multi Specialty
 Jeremy Estes
 Stoke/Telemetry Medicine Unit Verdi 5E
 Patrick Ferguson
 Surgical Intensive Care Unit
 Paula Johnson
 Adult and Family Wound Care Orchard Clinic
 Lisa Liquori
 HVC - Cardiothoracic Intensive Care Unit
 Danielle Niedzwiecki
 Rehabilitation Unit Verdi 4E
 Celeste Potter
 HVC - Cardiothoracic Intensive Care Unit
 Monica Scott
 Ambulatory Surgery Multi Specialty

2013 Nursing Award & Recognition Minimize


Current committee members (standing left to right) - 1st row:  Co-Chair - Deirdre Lonergan, RN, Surgical Services Unit 7-7 EP YSC; Co-Chair - Cindy Taylor, RN, Post Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU) Perioperative Services YSC;  Susan Howe, RN

2nd row:  Joyce Sinclair, RN; Helena Erskine, RN; Hadizah Collins, RN

3rd row:  Mary Kelly-O'Shea, RN; Sally Lapadula, RN; Laurie Devin, RN, PSM, CTICU; Lisa Waterbury, RN, APSM, Heart & Vascular Center (HVC) Procedural Area

Last row: Our newest member Susan Falbo- MacConnie, RN, YNHH-Chapel Street Campus; Margaret Mackenzie, RN; and Michele Lavoie, RN, CTICU WP3, YNHH-YSC.

Missing from photo is Senior Administrative Liaison:  Diane Vorio, MS, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, Vice-President of Patient Services and Associate Chief Nursing Officer YNHH York Street Campus and Associated Ambulatory Sites  Sheila Coonan, SRC 

Click here for the APPLICATION to JOIN:  Nursing Award & Recognition Committee

Please send completed application to either Cindy Taylor @ or Deirdre Lonergan @


Recognize a Nurse Minimize
To Nominate- Click Here 


Feedback Minimize